Skip to main content

The first of two off-cycle governorship elections was conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ekiti State, on June 18, 2022. The election is the seventh in the state since the return of the current democratic dispensation in 1999. Following a 2010 Court of Appeal verdict, which removed then Governor Segun Oni, and declared Dr. Kayode Fayemi the rightful winner of the 2007 governorship election, Ekiti became one of several states holding off-cycle governorship elections. The June 18, 2022 Ekiti State gubernatorial election is the very first to be conducted under the amended Electoral Act, 2022.
Following the conclusion of voting, collation and declaration of results in the June 18 2022 Ekiti Governorship election, the Centre for Democracy and Development Electoral Analysis Centre (CDD-EAC) is issuing this post-election statement on its overall findings on the conduct of the poll. This CDD-EAC post-election statement provides further updates, following the earlier releases of two preliminary statements. CDD-EAC observes that following the declaration of the results of the election by the State Collation Officer appointed by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), the post-election environment has remained calm and peaceful.
CDD-EAC calls on all political actors in Ekiti State to maintain the peaceful and calm disposition during the post-election period. As the conclusion of the election leads to the peaceful transfer of political power from the current administration to the incoming one, CDD-EAC further urges the contestants in the election to exhibit the spirit of true sportsmanship, which is one of the hallmarks of true democrats. On the basis of data received from CDD-EAC field observers, CDD confirms that the collation process leading to the declaration of the Governorship election result by INEC, was smooth and free of hitches.
The Ekiti State Governorship election result as declared by INEC shows that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Olatunji Oyebanji scored 187,057 votes (53.16%) to defeat his closest challenger, Mr. Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), who polled 82,211 (23.37%) of the votes, while Mr. Bisi Kolawole of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came third with 67,457 (19.17%) of the votes.

Read the Full Statement in the PDF Below

Leave a Reply